Our members

VCAT has almost 200 members. These are the people who hear and decide cases.

Our members have specialist knowledge and qualifications, and most have a legal background. All our members must have:

  • a high level of integrity
  • sound judgment
  • legal or professional skills
  • excellent communication and interpersonal skills
  • the ability to conduct hearings
  • a capacity to make fair decisions quickly.

Who appoints our members

The Governor in Council appoints members on the recommendation of the Attorney-General. They’re appointed to these roles for seven years. 
Find information about VCAT appointments on the Department of Justice and Community Safety website

List of VCAT members

Current at 3 May 2024

VCAT President

Justice Ted Woodward

Vice Presidents

Judge Sharon Burchell
Judge Elizabeth Brimer
Judge Sandra Davis
Judge Caitlin English
Judge Michael Macnamara
Judge Samantha Marks
Judge Jeanette Morrish
Judge My Anh Tran

Deputy Presidents

Ms Teresa Bisucci
Ms Carol Daicic
Mr Brendan Hoysted (Acting)
Mr Ian Lulham
Mr Ian Proctor
Mr Eric Riegler
Mr Lindsay Warren
Mr Richard Wilson

Senior Members - Non-sessional

Ms Margaret Baird
Mr John Bennett
Ms Susan Burdon-Smith
Mr Domenico Calabro
Ms Kylea Campana
Mr Sam Cimino
Mr Geoffrey Code
Ms Anna Dea
Ms Picha Djohan
Mr Mark Farrelly
Ms Leneen Forde
Ms Alison Glynn
Mr Brendan Hoysted
Ms Justine Jacono
Ms Louise Johnson
Mr Philip Martin
Ms Stella Moraitis
Ms Rachel Naylor
Ms Genevieve Nihill AM
Mr Ian Potts
Mr Charles Powles
Ms Charlene Price
Mr Bill Sibonis
Ms Anita Smith
Mr Jonathan Smithers
Ms Bernadette Steele
Mr Reynah Tang AM
Dr Andrea Treble
Mrs Silvana Wilson

Senior Members - Sessional

Ms Catherine Aird
Mr John Billings
Mr Chris Edquist
Mr Michael Levine
Ms Jacqueline Preuss
Ms Jeanette Rickards
Ms Elisabeth Wentworth

Members - Non-sessional

Ms Jillian Bartlett
Ms Claire Bennett
Mr Rohan Bennett
Ms Elizabeth Bensz
Mr Michael Bevan
Ms Deirdre Bignell
Ms Tracey Bilston-McGillen
Ms Kerrie Birtwistle
Mr Gregory Brock
Ms Seuna Bryne
Ms Danica Buljan
Dr Louise Bygrave
Ms Mary Cameron
Mr Neill Campbell
Ms Megan Carew
Mr Jeremy Cass
Mr Robert Chamberlain
Mr Simon Cohen
Ms Dalia Cook
Mr Richard Curie
Ms Donna D'Alessandro
Mr Robert Daly
Mr Michael Deidun
Ms Jennifer Ellis
Ms Nicole Feeney
Ms Natalie Fleming
Mr Sydney Fry
Ms Danielle Galvin
Mr Peter Gaschk
Mr Filip Gelev
Ms Renee Gorenstein
Mr Martin Guthrie
Mr Chris Harty
Mr Brook Hely
Mr Adrian Hoel
Ms Diane Hubble
Mr Barry Josephs
Mr Andrew Kincaid
Ms Jessica Klingender
Ms Kim Knights
Ms Rebecca Leshinsky
Ms Clare Lethlean
Ms Susanne Liden
Mr Donald Lucas
Ms Nicole Maher
Mr Owen Mahoney
Ms Felicity Marks
Ms Sarah McDonald
Ms Anne Moon
Ms Holly Nash
Mr Michael Nelthorpe
Ms Katherine Paterson
Mr Sam Pandya
Ms Judith Perlstein
Ms Tania Petranis
Ms Cassandra Rea
Ms Julia Reid
Ms Cassandra Tanner
Ms Linda Rowland
Mr Michael Ryall
Mr Ian Scott
Ms Alison Slattery
Ms Jodie Stroud
Ms Jane Tait
Mr Joel Templar
Mr Christopher Thwaites
Ms Anne-Marie Tilley
Ms Mary-Anne Taranto
Ms Tracy Watson
Mr Stuart Webb
Ms Susan Whitney
Mr Shiran Wickramasinghe
Ms Tania Wolff

Members - Sessional

Mr Benjamin Adcock
Ms Vanessa Aitken
Ms Dianne Anderson
Ms Mary Archibald PSM
Mr Stephen Axford
Ms Pamela Barry
Dr Philip Bender
Ms Wendy Boddison
Ms Venetia Bombas
Ms Siobhan Boyd-Squires
Ms Melissa Bray
Ms Emma Bridge
Mr Robert Buchanan
Ms Marietta Bylhouwer
Mr Louis Cali
Dr Melainie Cameron
Ms Rebecca Cameron
Mr Gregary Chase
Mr John Clampett
Ms Vicky Cogley
Mr Peter Cole
Ms Rea Condoleon
Ms Lara Crocker
Mr Frank Dawson
Dr Clare Delany
Mr Edward de Zilwa
Dr Anthony Dickinson
Mr Barry Draper
Ms Annette Eastman
Mr Michael El Moussalli
Ms Alison Elmes
Ms Michelle Gardner
Dr John Gleeson
Ms Megan Goulding
Mr Sherman Gu Xu Ming
Mr Raymond Gymer
Mr Paul Gysslink
Mr Nick Hadjigeorgiou
Ms Bernadette Hally
Ms Diana Harding KC
Dr Christopher Hart
Miss Jennifer Holdstock
Mr Adrian Ho
Mr Tony Horan
Mr Colin Jones
Dr Alan Johnston
Ms Ann Keddie
Mr David Kim
Ms Carolyn Manning
Dr Elizabeth Mason
Mr Colin McIntosh
Ms Patricia McKeown
Dr Peter McNeill
Mr Roderick McRae
Ms Katherine Metcalf
Mr Gino Mitrione
Dr Patricia Molloy
Ms Lorina Nervegna
Dr Elissa O'Brien
Mr Rodney Page
Ms Kate Partenio
Ms Rosslyn Pearson
Ms Annette Peart
Mr Christopher Perera
Dr Yi-Lee Phang
Mr Robert Phillips
Ms Marian Power
Mr Mark Prince
Ms Erin Rankins
Mr John Sharkie
Dr Rowan Story AM RFD
Dr Angela Sungaila
Mr Michael Sweeney OAM
Dr Michelle Taylor-Sands
Ms Vivienne Topp
Mr Christopher Torr
Mr Peter Tyler
Mr John Vestakis
Ms Jill Walsh
Dr Laurie Warfe
Dr John Waterhouse
Mr Nicholas Wimbush
Mr Philip West
Ms Angela Williams
Mr Samuel Zheng